Nantgarw China Works is the only surviving early 19th century porcelain works in the United Kingdom. In the years 1813-1814 and again in the period 1817-1820 the finest porcelain in the world was produced here in Wales by William Billingsley, one of the most remarkable porcelain painters and manufacturers of his time.
At Nantgarw China Works William Billingsley perfected his porcelain recipe with the addition of a variety of ingredients known only to him He succeeded in producing the finest porcelain ever made. Nantgarw Porcelain is unique in that it is a bone ash/frit based soft-paste porcelain body which no other porcelain can come close to in translucency or whiteness. Furthermore, the glaze on Nantgarw porcelain is the perfect complement to enamelled decoration giving the colours true vibrancy and allowing the decoration to merge into the glaze. Nantgarw China Works is still extremely active in encouraging, supporting and promoting contemporary artists working with ceramics. The China Works currently provides studio space and facilities to outstanding ceramicists who create, fire and exhibit new work on the premises. These artists actively pass on their skills to both adults and children through regular workshops at China Works. In 2017 Nantgarw China Works undertook a project to recreate the original recipe for Nantgarw Porcelain which had been lost for over two hundred years. This successful completion of this project has enabled our current artist in residence to start making new contemporary work from this exceptional porcelain body. A small number of items made from this porcelain will be sold to help support the sustainability of the museum.
Narberth Museum in Pembrokeshire has been home to the Bonded Stores since 2012, a building with a purpose – to keep people out. Stored inside would have been hundreds of kegs full of valuable but duty-free whisky, brandy and rum. Only when the Revenue Officer and the Stores Manager were both present with their keys could the double locks be opened.
The new Narberth Museum has chosen the symbol of the two keys as its logo – but now those same heavy doors are are thrown open and everyone is welcome to discover for themselves the treasures within. As both the mythical court of Pwyll, Prince of Dyfed, in the ancient tales of the Mabinogion and the bustling 19th Century market town , Narberth has a long and fascinating history. Its legend is told at Narberth Museum, through a diverse collection of artifacts, an archive of documents and social history, vibrant interpretation and interactive activities. A scale model of the castle will help you visualise what once stood on the site of Narberth’s ruined castle and an interactive game illustrates the tactics used in medieval siege warfare. A working scale model of the station is set up with trains running to an original timetable or walk the streets of turn-of-the-century Narberth and experience some of the shops that were around at the time. One of the most popular areas of Narberth museum for young families is our Mabinogion woodland glade. As well as explaining the story of the Mabinogion through interpretive panels it includes a storytelling chair where children can listen to welsh folk stories in English and Welsh. There are also puzzles and games for younger children to play with. As well as our permanent collection, there is a programme of temporary or visiting exhibitions throughout the year.
Visit the award-winning Milford Haven Museumin Pembrokeshire for a fascinating delve into Milford Haven’s past.
We’ll take you back to the Bronze Age with our amazing recent discovery before exploring the whaling and fishing industries (and how they put Milford Haven on the map). Then we’ll bring you back to the 21st century by looking at the role Milford Haven plays in supporting the world’s energy demands. We now offer audio tours in English, Welsh and German to help guide you through the many exhibitions*. We are passionate about our history and look forward to sharing it with you.
The Internal Fire Museum of Power is situated in Ceredigion and charts the development of the steam engine through to the most modern internal combustion engines. The continuous development that has shaped modern engine technology is demonstrated by working engines from 1850s steam engines through to modern computer controlled high speed diesels.
Engines run in the museum every day with a variety of sounds and smells that are eye opening to those who don’t remember and evocative of a previous life to those who do. As things evolve and the technologies used for power generation and transport change there is a need to preserve and showcase steam and internal combustion engines which have been such an important part of the last two centuries. Here at Internal Fire Museum of Power we keep these wonderful machines alive and on display for the public to see.
The Lloyd George Museum in North Wales is dedicated to the life and times of David Lloyd George, the Welshman who was Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1916 to 1922.
The aim of the Museum and Highgate, his boyhood home, is to interpret the life and times of David Lloyd George 1863-1945 by collecting, caring for and displaying items relating to him and to develop the Museum and Highgate as a worthy centre to commemorate one the greatest statesmen of the twentieth century and as a focus for information and research that will promote worldwide awareness of his achievements.
Pembroke Dock Heritage Centre is operated by Pembroke Dock Sunderland Trust which was established in 2006. It is located in the Royal Dockyard Chapel, Pembroke Dock, West Wales and the only Georgian military chapel which survives in Wales.
The Pembroke Dock Heritage Centre was established shortly after the building’s restoration in 2008. The transformation of the building enables the Heritage Centre to bring objects and stories to share with our visitors. We are committed to continuing to sharing the story of Pembroke Dock and its people. We are an registered charity and whether visitors are engaging with our displays, taking part in discussion and debate, studying our archive, holding a corporate event, having fun at events, or enjoying a rest in our café, there are opportunities for learning and inspiration within our Heritage Centre. Our vision is to inspire everyone with the Pembroke Dock story – the people who shape it and its place in our lives.
Ruthin Gaol, come and learn what life was like for prisoners – their daily routines, what they ate, how they worked and the punishments they suffered (sometimes for stealing an apple!) Visit the condemned cell, experience the ‘smells’ and listen to stories of its most colourful prisoners.
Ruthin Gaol in North Wales ceased to be a prison in 1916 when the prisoners and guards were transferred to Shrewsbury. The County Council bought the buildings in 1926 and used part of them for offices, the county archives, and the town library. During the Second World War the prison buildings were used as a munitions factory, before being handed back to the County Council, when it was the headquarters of the Denbighshire Library Service. In 2004 the Gaol was extensively renovated and reopened as a museum.
Holyhead Maritime Museum is situated at the picturesque Newry Beach, Anglesey, the museum is a fascinating family experience. Take a step back in time at the oldest lifeboat station in Wales.
At the Holyhead Maritime museum learn about shipwrecks, gallant rescues and pirates. Find out what it was like to sail on the Irish Sea 100 years ago. Visit our WW2 Air Raid Shelter and marvel at our collection of WW1 and WW2 memorabilia. You can even test out our authentic Air Raid Siren! The museum is a fascinating experience for the whole family. Visitors can step back in time at the oldest lifeboat station in Wales (circa. 1858), which houses a wonderful collection of exhibits to illustrate the fascinating maritime history of Holyhead. Examine detailed models of ships sailing the Irish Sea over 100 years ago and compare them to the modern technically advanced vessels of today. Learn about local shipwrecks and the lifeboatmen who saved so many lives.
Chapel Bay Fort in Pembrokeshire was completed in 1891, being the earliest known fort in the world constructed principally in mass concrete (with no reinforcement). Originally armed with three wrought iron 10″ rifled guns, the fort was rearmed in 1901 with three 6″ guns, when the fort was substantially altered and modernised.
The main fort occupies a 4 acre site with a 30′ deep dry ditch around it, lined with concrete on the inner face. Inside are casemated barracks for 96 men together with a Master-Gunner’s house, Officers’ Mess (now rebuilt) and associated ablutions, kitchens, magazines etc. In World War I, Chapel Bay Fort not only formed part of the Haven defences, but was also an examination battery, and under its guns, suspected blockade runners moored in Stack Roads were examined for contraband. In World War II it was used to control the anti-aircraft guns defending the Haven, and to plot the position of German air dropped magnetic mines. A registered charity was set up in 1995 with the long-term aim of opening Chapel Bay Fort to the public as an interpretation centre for the military history of Milford Haven and its environs. The fort is open to guided tours only until extensive and expensive safety measures can be put in place. In the 18 years since the charity was formed, a lot of work has been carried by volunteers with occasional help from the Royal Engineers. When completed, Chapel Bay Fort will be the only one of 12 forts that were built to defend Milford Haven which will be open to the public.
The Home Front Museum in Llandudno, North Wales was opened in September 2000 and is a personal collection of home front related memorabilia collected over the last forty years. The building dates back to the mid nineteenth century and for the majority of its working life was used as a garage, owned and worked by Frank Meredith and his two sons.
During the Second World War the garage was requisitioned by the Auxiliary Fire Service and it was here that a pump was based along with seven volunteers, trained in many aspects of Civil Defence. Unfortunately, Frank Meredith’s son, Francis, was killed in Libya in 1942 while serving with the 69th Medium Regiment, Royal Artillery and is remembered on the town’s war memorial. The building reverted to a garage after the war and after changing hands a number of times was acquired in 1999 to house the Home Front museum collection. In this unique living history museum, take a self guided tour and explore 6 years of war on the home front captured in shops, room displays and tableaux.