Portmeirion Village is home to two hotels, a cluster of historic cottages, iconic architecture, a spa, stylish shops, award-winning restaurants, casual cafes, an Italian ice cream parlour, exotic gardens and sandy beaches.
In 1925, Welsh architect Clough Williams-Ellis acquired the site which was to become Portmeirion village. He had been searching for a suitable site for his proposed ideal village for several years and when he heard that the Aber Iâ estate near Penrhyndeudraeth was for sale, he did not hesitate to make an offer. He wanted to show how a naturally beautiful location could be developed without spoiling it, and that one could actually enhance the natural background through sympathetic development. The Aber Iâ estate had everything he had hoped for as a site for his architectural experiment: steep cliffs overlooking a wide sandy estuary, woods, streams and a nucleus of old buildings.