Plas Newydd Historic House & Gardens
Plas Newydd Historic House is a country house set in gardens, parkland and surrounding woodland on the north bank of the Menai Strait, in Llanddaniel Fab, near Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, Anglesey, Wales.
The current building has its origins in 1470, and evolved over the centuries to become one of Anglesey’s principal residences. Owned successively by Griffiths, Baylys and Pagets, it became the country seat of the Marquesses of Anglesey, and the core of a large agricultural estate. Plas Newydd Historic House and grounds, with views over the strait and Snowdonia, are open to the public, having been owned by the National Trust since 1976. The house itself has changed over the years, from the original Tudor House, to the changes made by the fashionable architect James Wyatt in 1793-9 and the modernisation during the 1930s when the family of the 6th Marquess made Plas Newydd their main residence. Today, Plas Newydd Historic House is undergoing another major period of change. A large-scale project to renew and update essential services to the house will continue. Most areas of the house will look differently at this time or be closed for periods as we protect the building and its collections. To help us share the progress and story of the work and the house, the Behind the Stage experience is incorporated throughout as part of your visit.